Texas Medal of Arts Awards Honorees for 2019 Announced by Texas Cultural Trust


Newly Announced Honorees Include Conspirare, Jennifer Holliday and Boz Scaggs

The Texas Cultural Trust announced their complete list of honorees to receive the prestigious Texas Medal of Arts Award.

The Texas Medal of Arts Awards (TMAA) is the signature fundraising event of the Texas Cultural Trust, celebrating the creative and artistic excellence of Texas while promoting and supporting the arts.

The 10th biennial TMAA celebration will take place February 26-27 in Austin, Texas.

The 2019 Texas Medal of Arts Awards Honorees include:

Film: Matthew McConaughey, Austin

Music: Boz Scaggs, Plano

Design: Brandon Maxwell, Longview

Literary Arts: Stephen Harrigan, Austin

Architecture: Elaine Molinar, El Paso, and Craig Dykers, San Antonio

Arts Education: Vidal M. Treviño School of Communications and Fine Arts, Laredo

Multimedia: Mark Seliger, Houston

Visual Arts: Trenton Doyle Hancock, Houston

Music Ensemble: Conspirare, Austin

Theatre: Jennifer Holliday, Houston

“We are proud to present the Texas Medal of Arts Award to these incredibly talented and esteemed honorees. Each of these artists have inspired and captivated their communities, our state, and beyond — contributing to the cultural fabric of our world,” said Heidi Marquez Smith, Texas Cultural Trust Executive Director. 

Heidi Marquez Smith and Lauren Anderson

Former Houston Ballet principal dancer and 2017 TMAA honoree Lauren Anderson announced three Grammy-winning Texans to join the distinguished class of previously announced TMAA honorees at a press conference held at Houston Ballet.

Since 2001, the biennial Texas Medal of Arts Awards has honored 108 Texas leaders and luminaries who have achieved excellence through their creative talents as well as those whose generosity has opened doors to artistic opportunity for Texans of all ages.

The Texas Cultural Trust’s Texas Medal of Arts Award is Texas’ most respected arts recognition and underscores the power of the arts to improve children’s education, contribute to the unique and proud cultural heritage of Texas, and stimulate the state’s economy. 

LtoR_Nelda Trevino, James Nelson, Alexis Hunter, Sharon Oeschger, Greg Davis, Lynn Wyatt, Lauren Anderson, Leslie Blanton, Linda LaMantia, 
Pam Willeford, Heidi Marquez Smith

The 2019 celebration is co-chaired by Leslie Blanton and Leslie Ward and will begin with the Arts Alive! cocktail reception at the Blanton Museum of Art on the evening of February 26th and will culminate with the Rise with the Arts Brunch at the Texas Governor’s Mansion, where Governor Greg Abbott will present the medals to the honorees.

The Red Carpet Reception, Awards Show and Gala Dinner will take place at the Long Center for Performing Arts on February 27th. 

Over the two-day celebration, guests will enjoy performances by 2019 honorees Grammy Award-winning Boz Scaggs, Tony Award-winning Jennifer Holliday, and Grammy Award-winning Conspirare as well as Grammy Award-winning Ray Benson and Van Cliburn International Piano Competition medalist Kenny Broberg, and the Long Center Select Ensemble comprised of Austin’s high school musical theatre stars of tomorrow.

For more information and to attend the Texas Medal of Arts Awards, please visit texasmedalofarts.org or call 512.478.5289. Individual tickets will be available beginning January 10. 

For more information on the Texas Cultural Trust, please visit txculturaltrust.org.